Friday, October 25, 2013

Command restructure complete

WRGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio -- Gen. Janet Wolfenbarger, commander of Air Force Materiel Command, announced earlier this week the full operational capability of the command's five-center system. Prior to the reorganization, AFMC was made up of 12 centers. The reduction to five centers netted an immediate operating efficiency through reduced overhead of more than $109 million per year. The command's five centers are the Air Force Research Laboratory and the Air Force Life Cycle Management Center, both headquartered at Wright-Patterson AFB; Air Force Test Center at Edwards AFB, Calif.; Air Force Sustainment Center at Tinker, AFB, Okla.; and the Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center at Kirtland AFB, N.M. The Armament Directorate at Eglin Air Force Base, Fla., falls under the AFLCMC, and the 96th Test Wing at Eglin reports to the AFTC. (Source: Air Force Materiel Command Public Affairs, 10/22/13)